A Chemical Engineering graduate of the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, Osun State, OGEDENGBE Tolulope Impact, named the June edition of the BRIGITTE POIRSON POETRY CONTEST (BPPC) 2016, is our triweekly most terrific personality. Here is the man of acclaimed poetrimentation.


Can we meet you, sir?

My name is Ogedengbe Tolulope Ayobami but my friends call me Tolulope Impact. The second son of the family of eight . I love meeting people and I believe I can be the best in whatever I put my mind to.

Your educational background

I attended Franciscan Nursery and Primary School Ilesa and went ahead to achieve my Senior Secondary School Leaving Certificate at Ilesa Grammar School and currently obtained a B.S.C in Chemical Engineering from the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife, Osun State.

As a finalist, your challenges in OAU?

Well, when I was still a finalist, I had financial issue and at times the stress of combining extra curricular activities with my school work. 

Relationship between poetry and chemical engineering

Smiles! The question is implicit but I will answer by saying . . . both poetry and chemical engineering involve reaction, i.e one thing joining with another to give a ‘compound’. Let’s take chemical reaction for example, elements react together to give compounds while in poetry, words cahoot (react) together to give a line. 

When, how did you begin to write poetry?

Hmm, this is a long story but in a nutshell, it all started in September 15th 2012 when I attended a program in Amphitheatre, OAU. During the course of the program, a guy came to present what I now referred to as spoken word poetry and I was really touched by his performance and decided to start up what the guy did. That was the beginning.

Your knack for poetry forms, what inspired it?

Well, it was birthed out of my eagerness to dig deep into poetry and the willingness to explore and master all forms of traditional poetry.

Most loved poetry form (with reasons).

Triolet, because it is like a puzzle to me and love games that task my brain. Besides, Poet Showumi Olawale also encouraged me by using the same poetry style to win the MAY Edition of 2015 BPPC.

Your victory in BPPC, what can you attribute to it?

Firstly, I want to appreciate God for His grace. I won the trophy not because I am the best poet but because my poem met the judges’ criteria and I also want to thank Aremu Adams Adebisi who tried the style that got me the trophy.

Writer’s block, how do you surmount it?

Well for writer’s block, It happens to virtually all poet but for me,  I play on rhymes and alliteration  whenever i notice words are on vacation or my muse need to rest. I also use that medium to read, study wide in order to get myself back on track.

Tell us about your coming book.

Hmmm, for my coming, I want to hold this to my belly for now sir.

Nigeria universities not in top 1000, what can be done?

The educational system is not encouraging. I notice we focussed on more of theory than practical. My suggestion is for us to look into our curriculum and know what makes other universities in other part of the countries stand in the positions they are.

Your assessment of Buhari administration so far?

Well, for Buhari administration, I will say, he has been doing fine but see sir, the change we clamour for will not come from something strange, and what we seek lies within our breath. In short, the change will start from all, not those in Aso Rock.

Your relationship 

😁 I am not in a relationship but I hope to meet my EYIWUMI soon.

Your thoughts on ARTmosterrific

ARTmosterific is a good initiative and I hope to seeing more positive impacts  from it.

Thank you for your time, sir

You are welcome.

